Tuesday, June 28, 2022
HomeTrending Stories English4-Vote Increase For Congress In Shut Rajasthan Rajya Sabha Combat

4-Vote Increase For Congress In Shut Rajasthan Rajya Sabha Combat

Ashok Gehlot voted together with his MLAs within the morning.


4 MLAs from Mayawati’s occasion who had introduced a merger with the Congress in Rajasthan earlier than enjoying hard-to-get forward of the Rajya Sabha elections had been amongst those that voted with the ruling occasion on Friday within the shut contest for the state’s 4 seats to the higher home.

All six MLAs, who had been previously with Mayawati’s Bahujan Samaj Occasion, got here to the meeting constructing with Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot and forged their votes. Individually, a authorized problem to their votes additionally suffered a setback with the Supreme Court docket deciding it will not hear the case urgently.

The voting began at 9 am within the meeting constructing and can proceed until 4 pm. Counting will begin at 5 pm.

Mr Gehlot reached the meeting shortly earlier than 9 am and the primary bus with the Congress MLAs additionally reached the meeting with Randeep Surjewala, one of many three candidates of the Congress.

Sandeep Yadav, one of many 4 recalcitrant Bahujan Samaj Occasion-turned Congress MLAs, informed IHNS, “Sure, we voted with the Congress. It’s fully constitutional for MLAs of 1 occasion to merge with one other if three-fourth of the occasion or on board.”

BJP MLAs reached the meeting in two buses, whereas two extra buses with Congress and different supporting MLAs had been set to succeed in the meeting after a while.

Each side had taken intensive measures to cease MLAs from being lured away. The federal government even had a 12-hour web blackout within the Amer space of Jaipur to safe its flock.

The Congress has fielded Mr Surjewala, Mukul Wasnik and Pramod Tiwari whereas the BJP has fielded Ghanshyam Tiwari whereas the BJP has supported impartial candidate Subhash Chandra.

Mr Chandra has made the elections difficult for the ruling Congress.

Talking with reporters, Mr Gehlot exuded confidence that every one the three candidates of the Congress will comfortably win.

He stated the BJP performed a “recreation” of fielding Mr Chandra as an impartial candidate with no majority.

“Even BJP MLAs didn’t like him (Chandra),” he stated.

BSP state president Bhagwan Singh Baba had issued a whip directing the six MLAs, who gained the 2018 meeting elections as BSP candidates and merged with the Congress in 2019, to not vote for the candidates of the Congress and BJP. Nevertheless, the MLAs went forward to vote.

Among the BSP and some different Congress MLAs had expressed resentment final week with the Congress authorities forward of the Rajya Sabha polls. The BSP members had even skipped a go to to Udaipur, the place the Congress was sequestering its MLAs, and as a substitute went for a visit to the Sariska Tiger Reserve.

Within the Home of 200, the Congress has 108 MLAs, BJP 71, Impartial 13, Rashtriya Loktantrik Occasion (RLP) three, CPI(M) and Bharatiya Tribal Occasion (BTP) two every.

The Congress wants 123 votes to win three seats. The occasion claims it has the assist of a complete of 126 MLAs. One candidate wants 41 votes to win.


Most Popular