Friday, July 1, 2022
HomeTrending Stories English"As a result of I Love Congress...": MLA On Cross-Voting In Karnataka

“As a result of I Love Congress…”: MLA On Cross-Voting In Karnataka

JD(S) MLA Srinivas Gowda leaving after casting his vote in Rajya Sabha polls on Friday.


At the very least one legislator from Janata Dal (Secular), Srinivas Gowda, voted for the Congress within the Rajya Sabha polls being held for 4 seats in Karnataka on Friday. SR Srinivas, JD(S) MLA from Gubbi, is alleged to have deposited a clean poll paper, invalidating his vote, although he has denied this, reported PTI.

Cross-voting is critical as one of many seats is seeing a heated contest between the primary opposition events – Congress and JD(S) – each of which have vowed to defeat the BJP.

Kolar MLA Srinivas Gowda was requested whom he voted for as he was leaving the meeting complicated. “I voted Congress,” he mentioned. Requested why, he responded, “As a result of I adore it.” He has up to now too mentioned he would give up the HD Kumaraswamy-led JD(S) and be a part of the Congress.

A 3rd JD(S) MLA, HD Ravanna, is alleged to must proven his poll paper to state Congress President DK Shivakumar earlier than placing it into the field.  

Outcomes are anticipated by the night.

Saying that two of his occasion’s 32 MLAs didn’t vote for the occasion, JD(S) President HD Kumaraswamy advised reporters, “Such low degree politics, are they legislators? He (Gubbi MLA Srinivas) has put a clean poll paper into the field. He has not voted for anybody, however exterior the voting centre, in entrance of the media he has claimed he voted for JD(S).” 

SR Srinivas rejected the allegations and mentioned he even confirmed the poll paper to the JD(S) agent as per guidelines.

Because the election has an open poll system, MLAs (voters) have to indicate the poll paper to their respective occasion brokers after selecting their preferences.

Mr Kumaraswamy was visibly indignant with Mr Gowda, the MLA who confirmed having voted for the Congress. “If that man has any decency, let him resign and do politics. He has insulted the individuals and JD(S) employees of Kolar,” Mr Kumaraswamy mentioned.

A day forward of the polls, Congress Legislature Celebration chief Siddaramaiah, a former chief minister, wrote an open letter to JD(S) MLAs, requesting them to forged their “conscience vote” in favour of his occasion’s candidate Mansoor Ali Khan, stating that his win might be a victory of “secular ideology” adopted by each events.

“By not supporting a secular occasion like ours, the Congress has strengthened the BJP,” Mr Kumrawamy mentioned on Friday. In an interview to IHNS a day earlier than, he had accused the Congress of getting no real interest in defeating the BJP candidate. The JD(S) had moved its MLAs to a resort to stop poaching allegedly from Congress, accusing the occasion of taking part in “soiled politics”.

Six candidates filed their nominations for the 4 seats from Karnataka, necessitating a heated contest for the fourth seat. 

A candidate wants 45 votes to win within the Rajya Sabha polls. 

The state’s ruling occasion BJP has fielded three candidates. It may well win two seats comfortably on account of its power within the meeting. Congress has fielded two candidates, although its numbers say it may be certain of victory on one.

For the fourth seat, the BJP is left with 32 votes and the Congress with 24, whereas the JD(S) has 32 MLAs. No occasion has the quantity to win this seat for certain, however all three have fielded candidates. The JD(S) has fielded solely this one candidate. 

Each Congress and JD(S) have vowed to defeat the BJP, however neither is able to pull out. Mr Kumaraswamy questioned why it ought to be his occasion to again out when it has extra MLAs left for the seat than Congress, and thus a greater likelihood to win.

Congress leaders mentioned it was time for the JD(S) to return a favour, stating that former Prime Minister HD Deve Gowda, Mr Kumaraswamy’s father, bought elected to Rajya Sabha final time with its help in June 2020.

Lawmakers are voting for 16 Rajya Sabha seats after 41 seats had been stuffed by candidates elected unopposed. The Rajya Sabha elections are essential in view of the Presidential elections subsequent month.


Most Popular