Tuesday, August 16, 2022
HomeA To Z SPORTSAsia Cup 2022: KL Rahul, Deepak Chahar Set For Comeback | Cricket...

Asia Cup 2022: KL Rahul, Deepak Chahar Set For Comeback | Cricket Information

Senior opener and first-choice vice-captain KL Rahul is predicted to reclaim his place again within the Indian crew together with seamer Deepak Chahar when the squad can be chosen for the Asia Cup on August 8. The Asia Cup can be performed in T20 format in Dubai and Sharjah from August 27 to September 11. Rahul was speculated to make a comeback for the away ODI sequence in Zimbabwe however a bout of COVID-19 has apparently delayed his restoration from the sports activities hernia surgical procedure he underwent not too long ago.

What can be fascinating is to seek out out whether or not the choice committee, headed by Chetan Sharma, picks a typical squad of 15 or prolong it to 17, retaining in thoughts an opportunity to check out all potential choices.

The Indian squad for the Asia Cup will present a good concept in regards to the crew’s composition for the T20 World Cup because the crew is about to mess around a dozen video games earlier than its sport on the showpiece in opposition to Pakistan on the MCG on October 23.

Whereas Rishabh Pant and Suryakumar Yadav have been Rohit Sharma’s opening companions within the final six T20 video games, Rahul will get again his place on the prime of the order on this line-up.

“KL Rahul does not have to show something. He’s a category participant. Each time he performs T20, it’s all the time as a specialist opener and that may proceed. Surya and Rishabh are set to play as specialist middle-order batters going ahead,” a BCCI supply instructed PTI on situations of anonymity.

Probably the most prolific IPL performers, Rahul has typically been criticised for his dated method whereas opening the innings in T20Is.

However with Indian crew using an ‘assault in any respect prices’ philosophy within the Powerplay, propagated by each Pant and Surya, Rahul will definitely want to vary his sport within the continental tourney within the UAE.

Whereas Virat Kohli’s kind has been the most important fear for the Indian crew, there isn’t a imminent menace to grasp batter’s No. 3 slot as he’s set to proceed in the identical slot.

There was no particular discussions on Kohli’s future within the shortest format and even when he does not have an excellent Asia Cup, his years of expertise and match-winning means can be tough to disregard for the marquee occasion in Australia the place expertise all the time guidelines the roost.

Dinesh Karthik has made one middle-order slot his personal whereas Deepak Hooda goes to be the primary back-up choice going ahead.

The fascinating facet can be whether or not selectors want an additional opener/keeper in Ishan Kishan or an explosive middle-order back-up/keeper in Sanju Samson. Both method, one among the many two will miss out.

Bowling assault

Within the bowling unit, Chahar, who will make a comeback within the Zimbabwe ODIs, in all probability, can even be part of the Asia Cup-bound squad.

“Deepak was one among India’s constant T20 bowlers earlier than he obtained injured. He deserves a good likelihood and likewise we’d like a like-for-like back-up for Bhuvneshwar Kumar. Additionally now that he’s coming again, he would wish to play a variety of video games to get his rhythm again,” the supply added.

Harshal Patel is reportedly down with a rib-cage harm and his inclusion within the squad can be topic to health.

So far as the off-spinner’s place is worried, Washington Sundar will not be thought of for the T20 World Cup because the crew administration needs to go forward with the expertise of Ravichandran Ashwin alongside Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal and Axar Patel.

Equally, Mohammed Shami has been intimated that he’ll solely be thought of for Assessments and ODIs.

Asia Cup Squad (In Competition) Certainties (13): Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

Again-Up Batters: Deepak Hooda/Ishan Kishan/Sanju Samson


Again-Up Pacers: Arshdeep Singh/Avesh Khan/Deepak Chahar/Harshal Patel.

Again-Up Spinners: Axar Patel/Kuldeep Yadav/Ravi Bishnoi.

Subjects talked about on this article


Most Popular