Thursday, December 8, 2022
HomeA To Z SPORTSHockey Males's World Cup 2023: India To Face Spain In Marketing campaign...

Hockey Males’s World Cup 2023: India To Face Spain In Marketing campaign Opener | Hockey Information

The Indian crew will begin its 2023 Hockey World Cup Marketing campaign towards Spain on the newly-built Birsa Munda Worldwide Hockey Stadium in Rourkela on January 13 in line with the schedule launched by the Worldwide Federation of Hockey (FIH) on Tuesday. , who received the bronze medal at Tokyo 2020, will face , ranked No. 6 on this planet, on January 15 on the identical location. On January 19, the Indian males’s hockey crew will play its ultimate Pool D sport on the Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar, the second location for the 2023 males’s Hockey World Cup, versus Wales, ranked sixteenth on this planet.

The Hockey World Cup 2023 will start on January 13 and proceed till January 29, with 4 swimming pools of 4 groups battling it out for the Championship trophy. India is positioned in pool D together with Spain, England and Wales.

At present fifth within the hockey rankings, Graham Reid-coached India are the top-ranked facet among the many 4 groups in Pool D. Spain are ranked eighth on this planet and have impressed of late beneath former Netherlands coach Max Caldas.

2016 Olympic gold medallists Argentina and Africa’s highest-ranked nation South Africa will open the 2023 FIH Odisha Hockey Males’s World Cup. The encounter between these two powerhouses of worldwide hockey will happen on January 13 at Kalinga Stadium, which hosted the final Males’s World Cup ultimate in 2018.

The second match of the day in Bhubaneswar will see the world’s primary taking over France, in a repeat of the 2018 World Cup quarter-final.

Afterward the identical day, the brand-new Birsa Munda Hockey Stadium in Rourkela will host its first-ever FIH World Cup matches, beginning with a “derby” between England and Wales

In complete, 44 matches shall be performed, with the Last scheduled on January 29 (7 pm native time) in Bhubaneswar.

The draw held on September 8 in Bhubaneswar decided the 4 Swimming pools as follows:

Pool A: Australia, Argentina, France, South Africa

Pool B: Belgium, , Korea, Japan

Pool C: Netherlands, , Malaysia, Chile

Pool D: India, England, Spain, Wales

Chile and Wales have certified for the Males’s World Cup for the very first time.

Belgium are the present world champions, having defeated the Netherlands within the ultimate of the 2018 version.


India’s greatest World Cup efficiency got here in 1975 after they received their lone title by defeating Pakistan 2-1 within the championship sport in Kuala Lumpur.

India will function the host nation for the FIH Hockey Males’s World Cup for the fourth time in 2023.

Subjects talked about on this article



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular