Friday, July 1, 2022
HomeTrending Stories EnglishMaharashtra Council Polls: 4 Of Ruling Allies, 5 BJP Leaders Win

Maharashtra Council Polls: 4 Of Ruling Allies, 5 BJP Leaders Win


4 candidates of Maharashtra’s ruling alliance and 5 of the BJP bought elected to the Legislative Council as we speak amid cross-voting by Congress members. The outcome for one seat, for which two Congress candidates are actually vying — is but to be declared. The competition for the tenth seat has grow to be a status battle for the state’s ruling Maha Vikas Aghadi after the upset within the just lately held Rajya Sabha election, the place the Shiv Sena candidate was defeated.

Within the outcomes declared already, Shiv Sena candidates Sachin Ahir and Amshya Padvi gained. So did Eknath Khadse and Ramraje Nimbalkar from Sharad Pawar’s Nationalist Congress Get together. BJP’s Shrikant Bharti, Praveen Darekar, Uma Khapre and Ram Shinde gained too.

The outcomes of Congress candidates Chandrakant Handore and Bhai Jagtap are but to return. The destiny BJP’s Prasad Lad stay unknown as nicely.  Of the three, solely two will have the ability to go to the Legislative Council.

Sources mentioned 44 Congress MLAs are current within the meeting, however the outcomes made it clear that solely 41 MLAs have voted for the Congress in first choice. Three Congress MLAs have cross-voted. The outcomes are but to return.

Altogether, 11 candidates have been within the race for 10 seats within the Legislative Council, with MVA allies Shiv Sena, NCP and Congress fielding two candidates every. The BJP nominated 5 candidates.

Whereas 9 candidates have been assured of a victory, given the events’ power within the state meeting, the primary contest was between Congress’s Mumbai President Bhai Jagtap and BJP’s Prasad Lad.

Every candidate required the help of at the very least 26 MLAs to win, and the 29 MLAs of smaller events or independents will play an important position within the elections.


Most Popular