Monday, November 28, 2022
HomeA To Z SPORTSNetherlands, Zimbabwe Qualify For 2022 T20 World Cup | Cricket Information

Netherlands, Zimbabwe Qualify For 2022 T20 World Cup | Cricket Information

and booked their locations within the ICC T20 World Cup after seeing off USA and Papua & New Guinea respectively in semifinals of the ICC Males’s T20 World Cup Qualifier B. Netherlands noticed off a spirited effort from USA to seal a seven-wicket victory of their semifinal after limiting USA to 138 in 19.4 overs whilst Zimbabwe held of a valiant PNG by 27 runs. Match hosts Zimbabwe’s choice to bat first turned out to be a fruitful one. The skilled duo of Regis Chakabva and skipper Craig Ervine supplied begin, with the previous adopting an aggressive method.

Chakabva struck the primary boundary of the match within the very first over, and adopted that up with a flurry of fours — three back-to-back off Sema Kamea. An over later, he smacked a six, trying much more harmful.

Nevertheless, his blazing innings was ended by Sese Bau, who had him trapped in entrance for a 19-ball 30. The wicket didn’t put brakes on Zimbabwe’s movement of runs although as each Ervine and Wesley Madhevere struck common boundaries. On the finish of the tenth over, Zimbabwe appeared sturdy on 90 for 1.

Nevertheless, inside the subsequent 5 overs, the hosts misplaced Ervine on 38, whereas Madhevere fell after top-scoring with a 29-ball 42. The center-order contributed with beneficial runs, serving to their aspect put up a powerful 199 for five from the allotted 20 overs.

The whole lot was going Zimbabwe’s means as they picked up a wicket on the very first ball of PNG’s innings with opener Lega Siaka’s dismissal. They misplaced two extra wickets in fast succession as they have been diminished to 45 for 3 within the Powerplay.

With the asking fee going up, Tony Ura began attacking with the bat, smashing two sixes in a row in Sikandar Raza‘s over.


When Ura fell, PNG have been 139 for five. They ended on 172 for 8 after 20 overs, falling quick by 27 runs. The house crowd went wild as Zimbabwe sealed their place within the marquee occasion in Australia.

Groups for World T20: Australia (defending champions) Prime 11 groups from the 2021 ICC Males’s T20WC , , , , Namibia, , , Scotland, , , West Indies Prime two groups from International Qualifier A: Eire and United Arab Emirates Prime two groups from International Qualifier B: Netherlands and Zimbabwe.

Subjects talked about on this article



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular