Sunday, January 29, 2023
HomeA To Z SPORTSPatrick Mahomes, Joe Burrow, Jalen Hurts, Josh Allen, Justin Jefferson are the...

Patrick Mahomes, Joe Burrow, Jalen Hurts, Josh Allen, Justin Jefferson are the AP MVP finalists – ProFootballTalk

Getty Photos

There may be one clear frontrunner for the Related Press Most Worthwhile Participant award.

However there may be additionally a non-quarterback among the many contenders.

Kansas Metropolis’s Patrick Mahomes, Cincinnati’s Joe Burrow, Philadelphia’s Jalen Hurts, Buffalo’s Josh Allen, and Minnesota’s Justin Jefferson are the 5 finalists for this 12 months’s MVP.

Mahomes, who was named PFT’s MVP earlier this month, is the frontrunner. Because the quarterback for the AFC’s No. 1 seed, he acquired 49 of the 50 first-place votes for the AP’s All-Professional staff. That listing is usually a superb indication of what’s to come back in MVP voting.

In his fifth season as a starter, Mahomes led the league with a career-high 5,250 passing yards and 41 touchdowns. He additionally accomplished a career-high 67.1 p.c of his passes and completed with a 105.2 passer score.

Burrow had an excellent third season, finishing 68.3 p.c of his passes for 4,475 yards with 35 touchdowns and 12 interceptions — good for a 100.8 passer score. He led Cincinnati to consecutive division titles for the primary time since 1981 and 1982.

With Hurts within the beginning lineup this season, the Eagles went 14-1. The quarterback handed for 3,701 yards with 22 touchdowns and 6 picks whereas additionally dashing for 760 yards with 13 touchdowns.

Allen and the Payments flamed out within the postseason, however the Payments nonetheless received the AFC East with the league’s No. 2 offense. He threw for 4,283 yards with 35 touchdowns and 14 interceptions, although he additionally had 13 fumbles with 5 misplaced within the common season.

See also  Panthers select Reich over Wilks to be new HC

As a receiver, Jefferson clearly elevated the of quarterback Kirk Cousins. In his third season, Jefferson completed the common season with the league lead in receptions (128) and receiving yards (1,809). There was a time when it appeared like Jefferson may break the single-season receiving yards report held by Calvin Johnson, however that didn’t find yourself occurring.

The AP MVP can be awarded throughout NFL Honors on Feb. 9.


Most Popular