Monday, July 4, 2022
HomeTrending Stories EnglishStung In Rajya Sabha Polls, Group Uddhav Thackeray's Recent Contest With BJP

Stung In Rajya Sabha Polls, Group Uddhav Thackeray’s Recent Contest With BJP

A complete of 11 candidates are contesting for 10 MLC seats up for grabs (File)


The Maharashtra Legislative Council (MLC) elections on Monday will witness one other contest between the BJP and Congress after the lately held Rajya Sabha elections.

A complete of 11 candidates are contesting for 10 Maharashtra Legislative Council seats, with the Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA allies) – Shiv Sena, NCP and Congress – fielding two candidates every. The BJP has nominated 5 candidates.

Whereas 9 candidates are assured of a victory given their present power within the state meeting, the principle contest can be between Congress’s Mumbai President Bhai Jagtap and BJP’s Prasad Lad for the tenth seat.

Within the Rajya Sabha polls that was held for six seats on June 10, the Sena’s second nominee Sanjay Pawar, who was main within the first spherical, was defeated by BJP’s Dhananjay Mahadik.

The BJP led by Devendra Fadnavis had clinched three seats by wooing MLAs of smaller events and Independents and thru intelligent vote allotment.

Taking no possibilities this time, Congress and NCP leaders final week held a gathering with Chief Minister and Shiv Sena president Uddhav Thackeray to debate the technique for the election to the state Legislative Council. The events had lodged their MLAs in several lodges within the metropolis to stop poaching makes an attempt.

Uddhav Thackeray on Sunday exuded confidence that there can be no break up within the MVA and dominated out possibilities of cross-voting within the MLC polls. 

“The defeat within the Rajya Sabha polls was unlucky. The Shiv Sena votes weren’t break up within the RS polls. We now have an concept of what went unsuitable. MLC elections will present that there isn’t any break up amongst us,” he mentioned. ” Mr Thackeray mentioned.

The efficient power of the 288-member Maharashtra Home is decreased to 285 as three MLAs will not forged their votes immediately.

Whereas one Shiv Sena MLA Ramesh Latke died lately, two NCP MLAs Anil Deshmukh and Nawab Malik – at present in jail – have been denied permission by the Bombay Excessive Courtroom to vote for the MLC polls.

Every candidate requires the assist of a minimum of 26 MLAs to win, and the 29 MLAs of smaller events or independents will play a vital function within the elections.

With 106 legislators, BJP can comfortably win 4 of the 5 seats. However for the fifth seat from which Prasad Lad is contesting, the celebration would wish the assist of defectors and independents.

The Sena with 55 legislators and NCP with 51 MLAs can simply win their two seats respectively, whereas the Congress with solely 44 MLAs, would require a minimum of eight first choice votes from Independents and different smaller events for its second candidate Bhai Jagtap to get elected.


Most Popular